Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

Sonnet XXXIII

09 May 2013

 

 

 

 

Sonnet XXXIII

 

 

 

 

Who do I trust with the words I’ve written?

Should they even be preserved in some way?

Thirty-four years, revelations hidden

in journals with poetry on display.

I used to think that was all I could leave,

besides my daughters, to prove I was here,

that my words were my only legacy,

but sometimes, even that seems so unclear.

I never believed in myself enough

and it’s only been in the last few years

that I have started valuing that much

what I have learned to say through joy and tears.

My whole life I have felt this need to write

but how do I decide what comes to light?

9 May, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

