Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

Self Inflicted Couch Trip

05 June 2013

Self-Inflicted Couch Trip

 

Yes, there are some days,

(I’m not suicidal, but)

I want to give up,

just lie down and go to sleep

and never wake up again.

 

Then, there’s other days,

I accomplish something small,

whatever it is;

and life seems worth living still,

for the moment anyway.

 

And obviously,

no matter which kind of day,

I might be having

or how I think I’m feeling,

I choose my reality.

 

It’s just that simple.

What I think creates my truth,

even how I feel.

I can choose to change myself,

challenge one thought at a time.

 

Who needs therapy?

I’m my own best therapist

if I’d just listen.

I already know myself,

why is it so hard to change?

5 June, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

