Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

Sonnet 42

30 June 2013

 

Sonnet 42

 

two days shy of the middle of the year,

I’m awakened at this pre-birdsong hour,

by this visceral, light morning shower,

an ancient wisdom which I gently hear.

It speaks a rhythm to my soul it seems,

stirs a yearning for something I have lost,

this moment finds me balanced in between,

a wave about to break upon the rocks.

The faintest pink enlightens eastern sky.

I used to feel connected to the whole,

but in the middle, neither here, nor there,

I have been stranded, only asking “Why?”

These quiet moments, life was rich and full,

these quiet moments need not be so rare.

30 June, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

