Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

Sonnet 43

04 July 2013

Sonnet 43

 

I do not know much about History,

just the famous stories that get retold.

It’s always been fascinating to me,

almost like panning in a stream for gold.

I wasn’t good at memorizing dates,

or analyzing the effects of change,

so tests and essays I will always hate,

and yet, trivia isn’t all that strange.

We’re doomed to repeat what we do not know,

History’s lessons are not worth ignoring.

I’ll wait for the movie or TV show,

reading about it is just too boring.

I am kidding of course, I love to learn,

but am I really? You’ll have to discern.

4 July, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

