Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

Ships

06 July 2013

 

Ships

 

Insomnia-driven waking dreams delight,

regressing to 1975, turning twelve …

Chippewa Bay, an irresistible siren call,

darkness punctuated by more stars

than I knew existed and the eyes

that blinked and slinked away far out along

a distant uncertainty …

I hid grandpa’s binoculars under my pillow,

just in case a Leviathan bellowed,

out of loneliness, or more likely, a greeting

in passing one of its kind.

Perhaps even now,

when I restlessly rise,

pad softly to my window,

and stare futilely out into that darkness,

I am still hoping to catch a glimpse

of what has passed me by,

uttering my own mournful cry.

6 July, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

