Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

Swing

06 July 2013

 

Swing

 

 

I never cared to swoosh down slides.

Likewise, I detested the teeter totter,

mostly because I was that kid

who always got stuck dangling up in the air.

Forget the monkey bars too,

which was kind of strange considering I loved

climbing trees.

Okay, once in awhile I would indulge

the merry-go-round, proving over and over

I could outlast anyone without

puking no matter how fast it spun and spun.

But, the swings …

eleven times out of ten, that’s where I’d be,

for hours and hours,

sometimes spending so much time

swinging that I could barely walk

when I finally did get off.

I never outgrew my love for

swinging I guess, only nowadays

I disguise it slightly,

in a hammock.

6 July, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

