Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

Sonnet 47

10 July 2013

Sonnet 47

 

there are pros and cons, weighing them is hard,

change isn’t easy, too many unknowns

if only I knew the Dealer’s next card,

I’d bet the farm and walk by faith alone.

Life’s a gamble, a risk that I must take

no guarantees, no promises at all

no one owes me the icing on the cake

I do my best and hope that I don’t fall

I always have a choice to fold or stay

and win or lose sometimes I have to bluff

I’ve heard it said sometimes it’s how you play

maybe just being in the game’s enough.

I’ve always said, there is no standing still

I’ve got to see what’s over that next hill.

10 July, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

