Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

outgrowing pains

23 July 2013

outgrowing pains

 

I’ve put on weight,

a little, just around my middle,

just enough to suspect.

 

Nothing I own fits,

my legs must have lengthened,

because it’s much harder to reach

my shoelaces now for some reason.

Maybe I should exercise more,

okay, fine, exercise period, but …

 

I am a pro when it comes to

excuse-making, rationalizing, and

justifying nearly anything BUT

my excuses, my rationalizations,

and my justifications.

 

And even in an unguarded moment

of self-loathing, I shift my focus,

philosophize, and consider:

we all outgrow — clothes, interests,

relationships, habits, tastes, and

on and on and on …

 

I still should exercise of course,

but I can now ponder all manner

of outgrowing pains while I am

making excuses …

23 July, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

