Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

at my age

24 July 2013

 

at my age

 

Nearly the big Five-O, I face it without care,

apathy controls my soul, each day is just a day

another chance to reminisce, this journay to Nowhere

 

I wanted to die tragically, while I was still young,

while the dreams of things I wished to do

still outnumbered those I hadn’t done

 

Before the flame of youth became a dying ember

and the warmth of hope was cooled by frail realities

disillusioned by a lack of vision beyond Decembers

 

The question’s not wrong, What’s it like to be your age?

but my answer’s dark, like a brooding expectant sky

or after the applause on a silent, darkened stage

 

to be forever young, has never been my desire,

too much of life I would just as soon forget

more than anything I think, age and memories conspire

 

to torment us just a little more each day

and regardless of who wins, or if I lose

at my age, I’m just really tired of playing games.

 

written for We Write Poems http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/2013/07/18/prompt-166-whats-it-like-to-be-your-age/

 

24 July, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

