Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

what I keep telling myself

28 July 2013

what I keep telling myself

 

I have to break it down,

into smaller, more manageable pieces,

set attainable goals,

shorter To Do lists,

so I do not get overwhelmed,

discouraged,

apathetic, and give up.

 

There are things I can control,

choices I can make,

even if one of those is simply

to stop being so stubborn,

so prideful,

and ask for help.

It is all right to admit that

I cannot do it all myself,

that I need help,

and perhaps an even greater

lesson is to learn to accept it

when it is offered.

 

No one likes change, but

in the process of living

it is inevitable. I know the philosophy,

the inspirational motivations and

encouragements, the Post-It Notes

quotes stuck on mirrors and

refrigerators of my life.

 

Knowledge may truly be power,

as they say, but wisdom is

knowing what to do with it, choosing

to live as part of the process,

within our journeys,

rather than just existing.

Despite the cliché, life truly

is what I choose to make it.

28 July, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

