Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

mist

30 July 2013

Mist

 

This night, too cold for fog, cannot explain

grey knee-high mist which swirls and acts so strange.

It’s like nothing I’ve ever seen before,

like cold Winter’s breath underneath the door.

 

I can’t be sure, sometimes I almost hear,

voices, as if whispering in my ear.

But what they say I cannot understand,

I keep moving, ignoring their demands.

 

The moonless dark begins to slow me down,

my fear deepens, what else might be around?

I tell myself I should not be afraid,

but words are not enough to make me brave.

 

I know it sounds insane to think like this,

but something’s after me within this mist.

So if, by some chance, I should disappear,

I pray my words explain why I’m not here.

30 July, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

