Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

moved to tears

10 August 2013

moved to tears

 

I can be emotional.

Strange things move me to tears,

 

I cried the first time I saw

the ocean, even at midnight …

 

I cried as a pre-teen, staring

at Niagara Falls …

 

I cried at my own wedding …

 

I cried, then panicked, when

my wife calmly announced her

water broke …

 

I cried at the birth of daughter

number two as well, with

slightly less panic …

 

I cried when my older sister died,

then dad, and then mom, with

hardly enough time to grieve one,

let alone all three …

 

I cried when I was served

my divorce papers and again when

the final decree came in the mail …

 

These days, I cry at almost anything,

sappy movies, some of my cooking,

the weather report, a song on the radio,

someone else who is crying, inside or out,

and sometimes, for absolutely no reason

at all …

 

I’m just grateful that for now, something.

anything, still moves me to tears.

At least I know I can still feel.

10 August, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

