Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

returning

18 August 2013

returning

 

As if I’ve always been returning here,

a place unknown until I arrived

where I truly belong has become clear.

 

I have wandered through life, both far and near,

treading water, but somehow I’ve survived.

As if I’ve always been returning here,

 

water reflects my soul like a mirror.

For the moment, inner peace is revived

where I truly belong has become clear.

 

I have been running, searching out of fear

struggling to swim upstream all of my life,

as if I’ve always been returning here.

 

I have tried to ignore the voice I hear,

always suspicious it spoke only lies.

Where I truly belong has become clear

 

I wish it didn’t take all of these years

to learn to let go of my foolish pride.

As if I’ve always been returning here,

where I truly belong has become clear.

18 August, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

