Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

stuck in the 80s

22 August 2013

stuck in the 80s

 

my Junior year,

smoker’s corner, ghetto

blaster assaulting with

Back in Black by AC/DC,

I had no friends among

the leather-jacketed rebels,

but the music … was worth

the risk of getting too close.

 

Mom prohibited that "pound

pound" noise as she called it.

Still, I saved my paper route money,

bought a few albums, and tried

to sneak them in.

 

She destroyed KISS, AC/DC,

REO (because of the cover art)

and I was in my 20s

before I went back to rediscover

most of those groups again.

I listen to almost anything nowadays,

but yes, I will probably always be

stuck in the 80s.

22 August, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

