Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

Tioga Memorial Gardens

24 August 2013

Tioga County Memorial Gardens

 

Hard to believe it’s been almost three years

since we laid you to rest that autumn day

a memory which still seems fresh and clear,

but blind, I could not find your unmarked grave

 

grandpa and grandma, near the big pine tree

near the stone Bible monument I found

a friend was my eyes but we didn’t see

only one place unmarked on the ground.

 

It just had a plastic stake with no name

but my memory failed to remember

we left the flowers on grandma’s grave

as I silently relived November.

 

I miss you all but you’re still in my heart

there are so few of us left now alive

family means little, we’ve grown apart

are we only missed after we have died?

 

I love you mom, grandpa and grandma too

and I know you heard me when I was there

I cry, it still hurts to be without you

but I’m grateful for the moments we shared.

24 August, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

