Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

Sonnet 54

14 September 2013

Sonnet 54

 

Ill-mannered ghosts invade my solitude,

enticing me to listen as if to prove

dead soliloquies need no audience,

even with unwilling participants.

I offer no encouragement nor praise,

however, they’re undaunted just the same,

as if aware their words reach deep inside

reigniting embers I thought had died.

They seem to take such joy inflicting pain,

resurrecting my hurtful past again,

reminding me of what will never be,

and feeding on my renewed misery.

I wish sometimes they’d just leave me alone,

as crucifying love cannot atone.

14 September, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

