Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

yellow Locust leaves

02 October 2013

yellow Locust leaves

 

I smelled the strength

of their voluntary decay,

I felt their softness

beneath my feet,

I heard the thick,

dampening effect on brick sidewalks,

the percussive tap dancing

as they swirled and scattered

with even the slightest breeze.

I imagined waxy yellow

Locust tree leaves,

which I only saw before

as a nuisance,

in an entirely new way,

since now, I cannot

see them at all.

2 October, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

