Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

disturbed

21 October 2013

 

disturbed

 

my sleep’s disturbed,

between two and four each morning,

by the insomniac’s breakfast club

which gathers just beyond

my walls for coffee and conversation,

and loudly talks of nothing.

 

my sleep’s disturbed,

at six each morning

by the woman who is conveniently exempted

from adhering to the quiet hours rule

and vacuums the hallways

faithfully and thoroughly.

 

my sleep is disturbed,

by morning commuters,

the sound of hundreds of cars

busily buzzing past my bedroom window

an unceasing swarm of angry bees.

 

my sleep is disturbed,

by daylight, a strange hindrance

which I rarely can overcome

no matter how exhausted I might be.

 

my sleep is disturbed,

awakened by the slightest noise,

I am up, so I may as well

write what I know.

21 October, 2013 - Posted by | Poetry |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

