Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

same old wish

 

07 January 2014

 

I would have thrived if I were alive

when letters were a treat,

when correspondence was more predominant

than a text or a tweet.

 

I’d love to know another soul,

who’d share as I would share,

although it is a worthy goal,

such intimacy’s rare.

 

These days we barely speak at all,

and share ourselves much less,

we’re so adept at building walls

while hiding loneliness.

 

I guess the risk of being known’s

too great to overcome,

by writing my poetic tomes,

I may yet share with some.

 

 

7 January, 2014 - Posted by | Poetry |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

