Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

musicology

06 February 2014

 

 

Everyone learned

to read music except me,

I just played by ear.

 

For nine years I played

in concert and marching band,

I was a drummer.

 

Eighth grade music class

was soprano recorder.

I just memorized.

 

Ninth grade it all changed,

no jazz band unless I marched.

I quit, and marched out.

 

Discovered guitar,

started singing, writing songs,

wandering minstrel.

 

Over a lifetime,

I have taught myself to play

piano, bass too.

 

I have always said

I’m good enough to fool most,

but never myself.

 

I wanted to play

a little of everything,

but master of none.

 

This troubadour rests.

I have given up the dream,

or redefined it.

 

To amuse myself,

I still play

piano, and

never stop learning.

 

Eclectic in styles,

I’ll listen to anything,

‘though much I dislike.

 

My threefold passion,

Nature, music, and writing,

some things never change.

 

 

6 February, 2014 - Posted by | Poetry | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

