Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

she had feet of clay

16 February 2014

 

(for Robin)

 

 

You were my first (and last)

Goddess-Bitch.

Naively, I groveled and tried

to faithfully worship you,

to earn your favor.

Indiscriminately, you took pleasure

In being cruel,

as often punishing as showing favor,

based on whim, on mood.

It was always your game,

your rules,

with only one possible winner or outcome.

But, at sixteen,

I still believed

without the doubt and apostasy of later years.

At sixteen, I bled out the pain

of discovering how fickle the gods can be,

especially when it came to love.

For that, I thank you.

Despite the years of wandering

in this wilderness,

I never gave up

on finding the Promised Land,

I just had a clearer idea of

who would be making the journey with me.

 

 

16 February, 2014 - Posted by | Poetry | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

