Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

true colors

17 February 2014

 

“You can lose sight of it all
And the darkness inside you
Can make you feel so small
But I see your true colors”

(Steinberg/Kelly)

 

 

I am not Ansel Adams mind you,

I cannot see the beauty in

black and white surrounding me.

Maybe it’s just Winter,

nothing but these shades

of nothingness,

monochrome,

lifeless,

dead.

 

I

tend to

become small,

see what I want.

I miss blues and greens,

yellows, reds, oranges,

and my favorite, purple.

Anyone can learn how to see,

but sometimes we lose sight of ourselves.

 

 

17 February, 2014 Posted by | Poetry | , , , | Leave a comment

love’s just love (a sonnet)

17 February 2014

 

 

I love the way you lick your chin and nose,

It’s cute your eyes can’t both look straight ahead,

and no one else I’ve met can talk to crows,

or, word for word, repeat what I just said.

Watching you hang upside down by your toes,

that silly way you sleep under your bed,

that strange distaste you have for wearing clothes,

that come in any color except red.

You make me smile ‘cause you can’t sing on key,

yet you can somehow juggle with your feet,

so many things that others never see,

like how you only chew with your front teeth,

but I love you and I know you love me,

the secret is that we are both unique.

They like to say that love is truly blind,

but love’s just love, no matter who you find.

 

 

17 February, 2014 Posted by | Poetry | , | Leave a comment