Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

in my own way

22 February 2014

 

 

In my own way, I was trying to say …

 

i

I was terrorized, traumatized, abandoned and alone. I wet the bed and sucked my thumb until the summer I turned 12

 

In my own way, I was trying to say …

 

ii

I wanted to believe, to find forgiveness, love, to be accepted just as I am, to know I had a purpose and direction for my life, so God/Church became the family I never had, and I learned to please.

 

In my own way, I was trying to say …

 

iii

Still empty, still searching, still reaching for something more, love/sex made promises it never kept. Twenty-four years of dialogue, and another seven years until I reached the point of listening no more.

 

In my own way, I was trying to say …

 

iv

Journeys have a way of coming full circle, bringing us back, again and again, to where it all began. Sometimes, the greatest truth we learn, is after all we’ve reached for, after all we’ve grown through our experiences, through everything we’ve learned, we still have to discover ourselves.

 

In my own way, I am still trying to say …

 

 

22 February, 2014 - Posted by | Poetry | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

