Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

leading me on

01 March 2014

 

 

“What the …” I muttered, not finishing the thought out loud.

 

It was night, but the fuzzy glow of a few streetlights revealed enough for me to tell I had no idea where I was. A sidewalk, on an unknown street, in a neighborhood I did not recognize.

 

I shivered slightly. It was snowing, softly, in big fluffy flakes that fell on my face and hands. I heard footsteps, behind me, casually walking away.

 

“Hey, excuse me,” I shouted, just loud enough for the stranger to hear.

 

He stopped and turned, but neither spoke, nor moved.

 

“I was just wondering sir, if you could possibly help me. I seem to be lost.”

 

I heard him shuffle back towards me, accompanied by an all too familiar sound. You see, even though I could not make any sense of where I was, or how I got here, I knew that back and forth tap tapping sound as intimately as he probably did. It was then I laughed, realizing he and I were both blind, the blind leading the blind.

 

(written for Kellie Elmore’s FWF prompt)

 

 

1 March, 2014 - Posted by | Fiction | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

