Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

editor’s blues

13 March 2014

 

 

he reads ev’ry word,

examines ev’ry line,

checks not once, but twice

then at least one more time.

 

He looks for things I mistype,

things that I misspell,

then looks at punctuation,

and usually gives me Hell.

 

He makes me blue,

so blue, it’s true,

Oh Lord, I’m telling you.

He makes me blue,

oh yes he do,

sometimes I wonder who’s working for who.

 

He questions ev’ry word choice,

dissects each metaphor,

expects me to explain

everything and more.

 

He makes me blue,

so blue, it’s true,

Oh Lord, I’m telling you.

He makes me blue,

oh yes he do,

sometimes I wonder who’s working for who.

 

He sees what I miss,

and likes to suggest

he knows what I meant

and wins most arguments,

 

he makes me look good,

like perfectionism should,

but one of these days I’ll fire him

like I always said I would.

 

He makes me blue,

so blue, it’s true,

Oh Lord, I’m telling you.

He makes me blue

oh yes he do,

sometimes I wonder who’s working for who.

 

 

13 March, 2014 - Posted by | Poetry | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

