Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

Shadowlands

23 March 2014

 

 

too light for Charon’s ferry,

I tarry, with worthless gold,

I’m told, no one returns

or earns their way out

of these Shadowlands.

 

No one speaks, of he

who seeks, who pursues,

a shadowy hue, always behind,

yet disinclined to apprehend.

I tend to fear standing still,

 

yet will my steps forward,

back towards uncertain

curtains and shades,

paths I’ve made,

always running away.

 

I’m caught between

unredeemed and damned,

I am lost, tears of

frost and fire,

desire unfulfilled,

 

I still am chased,

but not abased enough

for love to save or curse,

and what’s worse, no hand

offers to guide me

from these Shadowlands.

 

 

23 March, 2014 - Posted by | Poetry |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

