Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

but inside …

19 April 2014

 

 

I grab respectful silence to mask the cynical,

adorn a fallen countenance with smiling tolerance,

I writhe at hypocrisy, the lukewarm nakedness,

but inside …

 

a hard-earned cape of wisdom covers burdened shoulders,

balancing personal truth against sincere faith,

I feel no need to impose, nor erode another’s attire,

but inside …

 

I’ve wrestled with angels, lost all but a limp,

I’ve spoken in tongues, heard the still small voice,

I’ve died, been raised, been a wanderer who never sees,

but inside …

 

I’m still a slave, at the mercy of my master,

envious of what others receive by faith,

outwardly I show no signs,

but inside …

 

I have the accouterments to dance with any whirlwind,

the knowledge to plumb any depth,

consummate skills to portray whomever you wish me to be,

but inside …

 

 

19 April, 2014 - Posted by | Poetry |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

