Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

Oracle

17 May 2014

 

 

I am thin at this altitude,

breathing labored,

this forced panoramic view

of chaos

a disaster just waiting to happen.

 

Why?

An enduring question,

for most people a curiosity,

but for a few – a necessity.

 

And for many,

adroit at plastic answers,

the few who knead the bread,

who sip only from alabaster cups,

are shunned,

deemed unredeemable

for not settling for conformity.

 

Many could see,

in graphic detail,

but few, if any,

ascend or question.

 

Many come,

seeking answers from,

but leave dissatisfied with

the answer they receive.

Only a few depart

with wisdom’s planted seed.

 

Mine eyes have seen,

in gentle humility,

merely because I choose

to ask, to listen,

and to see.

 

 

17 May, 2014 - Posted by | Poetry | ,

12 Comments »

  1. Beautiful poem and it’s good to see you’ve returned, Michael. I appreciate you stopping by to read while on a break and I hope you’re doing better, too…

    Comment by lscotthoughts | 20 May, 2014 | Reply

  2. Beautiful, Micheal. I like how you end the poem.

    Comment by Lonely Daffodil | 18 May, 2014 | Reply

  3. Yay, you’re back, Michael!! I gave it one more try today and voila your site appeared on my screen!! πŸ˜€

    Comment by Tracesofthesoul | 18 May, 2014 | Reply

    • yes, I am back LOL thanks for making me feel missed, well, at least my poems

      Comment by michael | 18 May, 2014 | Reply

      • Oh you were, my friend. I would check often and see the alert that I had to ask permission but did not want to disturb you…I do love your poetry too and your likes and odd comments are most welcome:)

        Comment by Tracesofthesoul | 18 May, 2014 | Reply

  4. I’m so glad you are back, Michael. Thinking of you, and hoping all is okay. (Thank you for reading while you were away.)

    Comment by Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister | 17 May, 2014 | Reply

  5. More should listen… And learn. Beautiful writing!

    Comment by CC Champagne | 17 May, 2014 | Reply

    • thanks CC your exuberance and playful exploration have kept me not only entertained, but also encouraged me to try again

      Comment by michael | 17 May, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

