Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

admiration

18 May 2014

 

 

Mirror reflection’s too superficial,

except no one understands if I try to explain

my resemblance to Narcissus runs much deeper.

Yearning, indeed, love of self, should never get lost in arrogance,

sublime as that temptation might be.

Endearment, to one’s self not another,

layers of delusion sprinkled with flecks of truth,

fulfills a deep-seated need,

a need I so often

never learn to satisfy within myself.

Damn that need in all of its complexity!

I seek only the admiration of myself.

 

 

written for prompt 18 Pooky’s

 

 

18 May, 2014 - Posted by | Poetry | , ,

7 Comments »

  1. This is pretty awesome actually, I had to read it twice but I am slow sometimes. Very nicely done, Michael.

    Comment by Tracesofthesoul | 18 May, 2014 | Reply

  2. This is eerily disturbing (possibly because I see glimpses of myself in it), but very, very beautiful… So sad, yet so beautiful!

    Comment by CC Champagne | 18 May, 2014 | Reply

    • I am not sure if I should say THANKS, as receiving a compliment, or thanks … I think … as in being totally unsure of what was meant. LOL Maybe I should have written about a rock group I admire or something … 🙂 PS why did you think this is sad?

      Comment by michael | 18 May, 2014 | Reply

  3. Welcome back.

    Comment by melorajohnson | 18 May, 2014 | Reply

    • thanks, but you knew all along I would be back – I just needed a couple of pokes

      Comment by michael | 18 May, 2014 | Reply

      • LOL and maybe some time.

        Comment by melorajohnson | 18 May, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

