Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

I still love you

19 May 2014

 

 

“what have I done to deserve this?

I really did care for you

why must you punish me like this?

my only crime was loving you”

 

“Loving You” (chorus to a song I wrote back in the 80s)

 

 

I still love you, if you are reading this.

Faithful silence makes the best accomplice,

like partners in crime, loot hidden away,

buried treasure, kept for some future day,

deathbed confessions revealing the truth —

I still love you.

 

Maybe it’s time to finally admit,

I’m guilty deep down, I never did quit.

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again,

the punishment’s worse than the crime I contend.

I’ve served my sentence, but this much is true –

I still love you.

 

 

18 May, 2014 - Posted by | Poetry | ,

9 Comments »

  1. Hmmm.. I still love you…. Beautiful words you put in this work. I love it

    Comment by Evelyn Agekameh | 19 May, 2014 | Reply

  2. I love this, Michael, and I’m happy to see you posting again…take care of You! 🙂

    Comment by lscotthoughts | 19 May, 2014 | Reply

    • thank you Lauren

      Comment by michael | 19 May, 2014 | Reply

  3. I like this more than just a like click.

    Comment by georgeplace2013 | 19 May, 2014 | Reply

    • thank you for that Debi :(I wanted to post a link to the rest of the song lyric but WP is not letting me embed links that work for some reason. Glad you enjoyed this.

      Comment by michael | 19 May, 2014 | Reply

  4. Nice to see you back, Jon

    Comment by antilandscaper | 19 May, 2014 | Reply

    • thank you, it actually feels good to be writing again and to feel like what I do matters to some. thanks for commenting 🙂

      Comment by michael | 19 May, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

