Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

back

19 May 2014

 

 

I didn’t mind watching you,

even though you didn’t watch me back

 

I didn’t mind pursuing you,

even though you didn’t pursue me back

 

I didn’t mind getting lost in your eyes,

even if I never found my way back

 

I didn’t mind listening to you,

even if you never listened back

 

I didn’t mind learning to understand you,

even if you never understood me back

 

I didn’t mind touching you,

even if you never touched me back

 

I didn’t mind kissing you,

even if you never kissed me back

 

I didn’t lie about missing you,

even if you didn’t miss me back

 

I didn’t mind when you said goodbye,

even though I didn’t say it back

 

I didn’t mind loving you,

even if you never loved me back

 

I don’t mind remembering,

as long as I remember I can’t go back

 

 

19 May, 2014 - Posted by | Poetry |

6 Comments »

  1. Great poem, Michael, and how many of us can relate? 🙂 Loved the ending, too! It perfectly wrapped up the emotions well!

    Comment by lscotthoughts | 20 May, 2014 | Reply

    • thank you Lauren, appreciate your sharing your response to it.

      Comment by michael | 21 May, 2014 | Reply

  2. I have SO been there! And I have such problems with getting that very last stanza to actually work for me (not as in having a problem with how you’ve written it, no with getting it to work that way in real life)… This is all too sad, but touches my nerves with it’s rawness and longing. Beautiful!

    Comment by CC Champagne | 19 May, 2014 | Reply

  3. Very nice…I especially love “I didn’t mind getting lost in your eyes,” but it very touching.

    Comment by Tracesofthesoul | 19 May, 2014 | Reply

    • thank you Cheryl, it is a phrase I use a lot I guess, but even though staring is rude LOL there is something to be said for someone who feels comfortable enough to actually look you in the eyes.

      Comment by michael | 19 May, 2014 | Reply

      • Still I really like the imagery….very romantic.

        Comment by Tracesofthesoul | 19 May, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

