Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

sigh ‘ense lesson

27 May 2014

 

 

It’s a matter of physics,

energy dissipates,

excitement wanes,

inspiration dwindles,

circles,

cycles,

trivialities

and trifles.

 

A body at rest,

needs attraction,

impetus,

(aka A PUSH)

but even then,

drag, outside forces,

entropy slows us down.

 

Cause and effect,

that still small voice,

something so incredibly simple and basic

as choice,

a willingness to try,

to refuse stagnation,

dig deeper,

climb higher,

be more honest with ourselves,

fearless,

in search of

our own journeys,

our own flaws,

shadows,

words …

 

It’s a matter of physics,

no one exists in a vacuum,

and we may never know

this side of eternity

how much we’ve done,

how much they’ve heard,

Take your journeys.

Keep your words flowing,

It’s not rocket science.

 

 

27 May, 2014 - Posted by | Poetry |

12 Comments »

  1. Yes, thank you, Michael. I needed to hear this today.

    Comment by Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister | 27 May, 2014 | Reply

    • you are welcome though it was really written for me to hear LOL

      Comment by michael | 27 May, 2014 | Reply

      • Well. .as you know, what we write is supposed to reach others in some way. Rest assured that yours did. 🙂

        Comment by Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister | 27 May, 2014 | Reply

        • ok, in that case you owe me a smile, a hug, and a lullabye 🙂 *worth a try I thought LOL

          Comment by michael | 27 May, 2014 | Reply

          • Okay! You’re on…what’s your favorite lullabye? Or do I have to freestyle it? LOL
            Do you have your guitar handy and is Isabelle close by? (That’s her name right?)

            Comment by Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister | 27 May, 2014 | Reply

            • hmmm wonders to himself what the world’s longest lullabye might be … and no guitar, I sold everything except my piano/keyboard over the last year or so … despair depression thingy as I began losing my sight. So acapella it will have to be. Just pretend I am Simon Cowell and it is American Idol auditions LOL And yes, Isabelle is THE Judge … muhaaaaaa

              Comment by michael | 27 May, 2014 | Reply

              • Hmmm…I’ll have to think about the world’s longest. We’ll be here a while. You sure you’re okay with that? Ha. I’m hoping you play the piano when you can, Michael. I hate hearing that you can’t play and that you have struggled with accepting it.

                Okay!! No pressure or anything!!! I’m terrified now…

                Comment by Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister | 27 May, 2014 | Reply

                • 🙂 ok, the band Bull of Heaven has a song called The CHosen Priest and the Aposite of Heaven might not technically be a lullabye LOL but it is an unbelievable 1453 HOURS long!! That is two months of continuous listening. Or singing … Deal??

                  Comment by michael | 27 May, 2014 | Reply

                  • 🙂 Okay, I went to YouTube and listened to some of this…I didn’t hear any singing, Michael. The first two mintues may have been in the F note range…for a loooooonnnggg time. Then I fast forwarded it a bit and then it sounded like alley cats screaming. (Isabelle may like it.) Still no music, however. That was the video of the first 5 hours! Ohmygosh!!

                    Now, if you can handle me siging for two months straight then I’ll consider it, but I assure you that it won’t be pretty. Listening we could handle, if you are willing to break it up. Sounds like loads of one on one time for us for a few months. Deal? 🙂

                    I am curious about what kind of music you like…

                    Comment by Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister | 27 May, 2014

                  • I had no idea what it was like, I just Googled longest song. My musical tastes run a strange gamut, jazz, classic rock, ambient soundscapes, think movie music, country, CCM, acoustic indie, alternative, basically almost anything except most rap, hip hop, an most popular radio stuff.

                    And you?? By the way, I sing like a South Park character impersonating Kermit the Frog singing John Denver 🙂

                    Comment by michael | 27 May, 2014

                  • Haha. Well, I took it a step further and entertained it a bit. I’m like you, as in, I listen to just about anything. My favorite bands are rock bands mostly. Metallica is a favorite and G-n-R was my favorite in high school. I had a mad crush on Slash and his hat. I was raised on old country, so I’m still a fan now to most of it. Jazz moves me the most. I love when a bunch if instruments can get together and make me smile.

                    You do? I used to be a first soprano, but now I’m more like the lead singer from Heart. Another favorite of mine. John Denver….oh man.

                    Comment by Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister | 27 May, 2014

  2. Like a lot

    Comment by georgeplace2013 | 27 May, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

