Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

if not for you

05 June 2014

 

 

If not for you, I’d throw in the towel,

speak in consonants, lose the vowels.

 

If not for you, I’d let silence reign,

enslave my soul in a song-less cage.

 

If not for you, my wings would melt,

from inner fires, from pain life’s dealt.

 

If not for you, who encourage me,

I’d surrender without excuse or plea.

 

If not for you, who make it worthwhile,

I’d give up, not go the second mile.

 

If not for you, my words would cease,

as beauty is transformed into beast.

 

 

5 June, 2014 - Posted by | Poetry |

7 Comments »

  1. Lovely piece, Michael. I loved it!

    Comment by Lonely Daffodil | 7 June, 2014 | Reply

  2. So beautiful.

    Comment by bruisedbelly | 6 June, 2014 | Reply

  3. Just lovely – as Churchill said “never (etc) give up”

    Comment by georgeplace2013 | 6 June, 2014 | Reply

  4. A beautiful love poem, Michael.

    Comment by Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister | 6 June, 2014 | Reply

  5. 🙂 Enjoyed the poem, and I’m happy to see that you updated setting to allow me to see the full text of the post through the reader – thank you!

    Comment by Kelly | 5 June, 2014 | Reply

    • sorry about that Kelly, I never knew it was set not to. Apparently it has been that way for the last four years. LOL

      Comment by michael | 5 June, 2014 | Reply

      • No worries, I usually got tempted enough to want to click on the see more and open a new page.

        Comment by Kelly | 5 June, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

