Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

half 2

10 June 2014

 

 

Half my life, I’ve only half-listened:

well done is half begun.

So many things left half-finished,

but getting there is half the fun, right?

 

My efforts, half-hearted,

just give me half a chance.

I’ve made it half-way there

in life’s half marathon.

 

I’m not half the man I used to be,

but I’m not a half-wit,

the glass has to be either half full

or half empty.

 

Don’t go off all half-cocked

just because you think I

am a half bubble off plumb.

 

I am only half awake,

that’s half the battle,

even when I feel half dead,

or when my flag is only flying at half mast.

 

Some half-baked ideas

aren’t half bad;

believe nothing you hear,

and only half of what you see.

 

Half the time, everything is

six of one, half dozen of another anyway.

It’s no big secret,

the cat is still half in the bag.

 

We all know how the other half lives,

my better half,

and that would be cheap at half the price.

That’s no excuse though

to do a half-ass job.

Why, I have half a mind to … yeah,

you don’t know the half of it.

 

 

10 June, 2014 - Posted by | Poetry |

1 Comment »

  1. Loved this, Michael! Was it a challenge to write? 🙂

    Comment by lscotthoughts | 13 June, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

