Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

playing doctor

21 June 2014

 

 

I never took a hypocrite’s oath,
nor swore to do no harm,
but age has tempered my scalpel
with practiced precision

and perhaps wisdom,
to diagnose,
to treat symptoms,
and prevent dis-ease.

I’ve stopped playing doctor,
matured, and learned to accept
I cannot play God;
there is no cure — Death still has the final say.

I still play with words,
wise enough to know I have no other choice.
I cut to heal,
especially myself.

 

 

21 June, 2014 - Posted by | Poetry |

4 Comments »

  1. Perfectly poetic philosophy. Nice work.

    Comment by Mike | 29 June, 2014 | Reply

  2. Comes across as very insightful… Love it!

    Comment by CC Champagne | 22 June, 2014 | Reply

  3. It is so good to see this poem from you, Michael. Hope all is well.

    Comment by Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister | 21 June, 2014 | Reply

  4. Marvelous – “write on”

    Comment by georgeplace2013 | 21 June, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

