Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

at what I left behind

14 July 2014

 

 

Darkness used to be my playground,

before I was afraid,

silence, my land of Make Believe,

a place I often stayed,

words, my imaginary friends,

before we were betrayed.

 

I long for how things used to be,

but innocence is gone,

too much has changed without, within,

this emptiness is wrong.

I’ve lost my way, lost who I am,

unsure where I belong.

 

I was content with nothing else,

back once upon a time,

I desire that simplicity,

which now I cannot find.

Forever, I am looking back

at what I left behind.

 

 

14 July, 2014 - Posted by | Poetry |

2 Comments »

  1. “I long for how things used to be, but innocence is gone, too much has changed without, within” that is the problem with looking back – it stays the same but we are different…

    Comment by georgeplace2013 | 14 July, 2014 | Reply

  2. The past is a wonderful place to visit, to pass through. But don’t stay long.

    Comment by bruisedbelly | 14 July, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

