Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

Ode to a Robin

04 February 2015

 

Ode to a Robin

 

An unmistakable song,

shadows seen, prove Winter’s strong,

six more weeks of hope deferred,

red-breasted faith, Spring’s assured.

 

Remembering how to sing,

join the choir living brings,

Death’s sting, O grave defeated,

joyful news, oft’ repeated.

 

Spark returns, a simple choice,

resurrect me Robin’s voice,

emerge from this empty tomb,

Life’s my Bride, and I, her Groom.

 

Three remain, the greatest still,

if lived, would all things fulfill,

I preach what I do not see,

by grace, by faith, I believe.

 

Like the Robin I will sing,

not of Winter, but of Spring,

of Tomorrow yet to be,

sing my soul, please sing to me.

 

4 February, 2015 - Posted by | Poetry

3 Comments »

  1. Wow! This resonated with me and I felt renewed as if Spring were intended to bring me song, light and laughter. Hugd, Robin

    Comment by reocochran | 24 May, 2015 | Reply

  2. I love to hear you sing, again. Yes, I am smiling.

    Comment by Kelly | 21 February, 2015 | Reply

  3. Six more weeks indeed…it’s been a cold winter.

    Comment by Cheryl-Lynn | 4 February, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

