Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

drown

20 March 2015

 

 

On Kiawah once,

a turbulent wave

caught me unaware,

tumbling me headlong

below the murky surface.

 

Disoriented,

I panicked,

swallowing salty water,

flailing and kicking

instinctively,

not knowing which way was up.

 

I still have moments,

nightmarish moments,

when I wonder,

will I drown this time,

or fight to resurface

and breathe.

 

 

21 March, 2015 - Posted by | Poetry |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

