Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

afternoon nap

26 May 2015

In innocence, I meant to rest,

but I could not waste this chance,

to listen to your breath, your heart,

and embrace you in this dance.

my forearm rests beneath your breasts,

my fingers softly straying,

my lips graze shoulder, back, and neck,

and murmur as if praying.

our bodies fit, a devilish skit,

so perfectly together,

while holding you, life’s storms seem few,

I can’t imagine better.

I must refrain, despite the pain,

that this nearness to you brings,

such joy is sweet, so full, complete,

my heart must silently sing.

so sleep my lady, gently, deep,

my love enfolds you briefly,

and though you wake so unaware,

these moments never leave me.

26 May, 2015 - Posted by | Poetry |

1 Comment »

  1. Oh, this is beautiful, Michael, and conveys such a special moment…

    Comment by lscotthoughts | 27 May, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

