Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words …

I asked

30 June 2015

 

The Oracle said I should get to know me

but each time I look the mirror image flees

I’ve turned on my Shadow, trying to see,

but caught naught even a faint glimpse of me.

 

I’ve asked every question, answered a few,

sought the opinions of anyone I knew,

from the outside in and inside out too,

I’m afraid it’s impossible to do.

 

I’ve studied the theories, walked every path,

tried science, religion, Hell, even math,

but knowing myself I simply can’t grasp,

(methinks the Oracle may have just laughed).

 

Beginning, and End might all be the same,

and knowing myself, a game to be played,

perhaps the Oracle shouldn’t be blamed,

I asked the question, I kindled this flame.

 

 

30 June, 2015 Posted by | Poetry | | Leave a comment

I dream of

30 June 2015

 

I dream of endless Fridays,

where we’re loving in the moment,

not rainy days of doubt and fear,

when love’s destroyed by inner torment.

 

I dream of soft and tender touch,

when fragile words need not be said,

when our hearts released from what once was,

bravely speak the truth instead.

 

I dream of understanding why,

our worlds are never black and white,

of living in the in-between,

two idiots, together, sharing life.

 

I dream not of perfection,

eight or nine good days out of ten,

but through each moment life will bring,

you’re simply with me where I’ve been.

 

Too often castles in the air,

breed nothing but fairytale dust,

but I dream with eyes wide open,

choosing still to believe in us.

 

30 June, 2015 Posted by | Poetry | | Leave a comment